Skip to main content

Events

2012 Colloquium & Seminar Schedule

 

Semiconductor Quantum Dots for Quantum Photonics

Prof. Duncan Steel, University of Michigan Ann Arbor MI

Monday, February 6, 2012
3:00 p.m.–4:00 p.m.
Sloan Auditorium

Learn More...


Optomechanics With a Twist

Prof. Mishkat Bhattacharya RIT

Monday, February 13, 2012
3:00 p.m.–4:00 p.m.
Sloan Auditorium

Learn More...


Design and Performance of EDOF Digital Cameras

Prof. Nicholas George U of Rochester

Monday, February 20, 2012
3:00 p.m.–4:00 p.m.
Sloan Auditorium

Learn More...


Special Reception to Celebrate Election of Prof. Fienup as NAE Member

Optics Community

Monday, February 20, 2012
4:15 p.m.–4:00 p.m.
Sloan Auditorium

Learn More...


Non-invasive Vision Correction Using Femtosecond Lasers

Prof. Wayne Knox U of Rochester

Wednesday, February 22, 2012
3:45 p.m.–4:45 p.m.
B&L 109

Learn More...


Pushing the Depth Limit of Multiphoton Microscopy

Prof. Chris Xu Cornell University

Monday, February 27, 2012
3:00 p.m.–4:00 p.m.
Sloan Auditorium

Learn More...


Temporal Magnification, Compression, and Cloaking of Light

Professor Alex Gaeta Cornell University Ithaca, NY

Monday, March 5, 2012
3:00 p.m.–4:00 p.m.
Sloan Auditorium, Goergen 101

Learn More...


50 Years of NASA Mirror Technology Development

Senior Optical Scientist at NASA and SPIE Vice President Dr. H. Philip Stahl

Tuesday, March 6, 2012
3:30 p.m.–4:30 p.m.
Goergen 101

Learn More...


Unveiling Titan: Results from the Cassini-Huygens Mission to Saturn and its Moons

Dr. Rosaly Lopes NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory

Monday, March 19, 2012
3:00 p.m.–4:00 p.m.
Sloan Auditorium

Learn More...


Measuring and Characterizing Quantum States and Processes

Prof. Daniel James University of Toronto

Monday, April 9, 2012
3:00 p.m.–4:00 p.m.
Sloan Auditorium

Learn More...


Subwavelength imaging using chaos

Prof. Daniel Gauthier Duke University

Monday, April 16, 2012
3:00 p.m.–4:00 p.m.
Sloan Auditorium

Learn More...


Cell Tracking in Live Animals: Extending Intravital Microscopy in Time and Space

Prof. Charles P. Lin Harvard Medical School

Monday, April 23, 2012
3:00 p.m.–4:00 p.m.
Sloan Auditorium

Learn More...


Manipulating Classical and Quantum Images with Four-Wave Mixing

Prof. Paul Lett, NIST Gaithersburg MD

Monday, April 30, 2012
3:00 p.m.–4:00 p.m.
Sloan Auditorium

Learn More...


The Kodak Research Laboratories at 100 and its influence on George Eastman House

Martin Scott Kodak

Monday, September 24, 2012
3:00 p.m.–4:00 p.m.
Sloan Auditorium

Learn More...


Optical Telescopes for Exoplanet Science

Prof. Jim Breckinridge Cal Tech

Monday, October 1, 2012
3:00 p.m.–4:00 p.m.
Sloan Auditorium

Learn More...


Ultrafast Lasers and Ultrafast Science

Jim Kafka Spectra Physics

Friday, October 12, 2012
2:00 p.m.–3:00 p.m.
Special FRIDAY Seminar Goergen 109

Learn More...


FIO/LS in Rochester

All day events during OSA/FiO, no colloquium at the Institute of Optics that day!

Monday, October 15, 2012
8:00 a.m.–8:00 p.m.
Riverside Convention Center

Learn More...


CANCELLED

Andrew Kulwiec QED

Monday, October 29, 2012
3:00 p.m.–4:00 p.m.
Sloan Auditorium

Learn More...


Auxiliary Entanglement in Spontaneous Parametric Downconversion

Dr. Warren Grice Oak Ridge National Lab

Monday, November 5, 2012
3:00 p.m.–4:00 p.m.
Sloan Auditorium

Learn More...


Special Colloquium : A panel discussion on this year's Nobel Prize on quantum optics

Panelists will be Carlos Stroud, Robert Boyd, Joseph Eberly, Nick Bigelow, and more.

Monday, November 12, 2012
3:00 p.m.–4:00 p.m.
Sloan Auditorium

Learn More...


Cell tracking in live animals: extending intravital microscopy in time and space

Charles Lin Harvard Medical School

Monday, November 19, 2012
3:00 p.m.–4:00 p.m.
Sloan Auditorium

Learn More...


Terahertz Dynamics and Control in Complex Matter

Prof. Richard D. Averitt Boston University

Monday, November 26, 2012
3:00 p.m.–4:00 p.m.
Sloan Auditorium

Learn More...


Extreme Optical Physics: Light & matter interaction in the relativistic limit

Dr. Robin Marjoribanks University of Toronto

Monday, December 3, 2012
3:00 p.m.–4:00 p.m.
Sloan Auditorium

Learn More...