The Institute of Optics

People

Full Directory

 
Per Adamson

Adamson, Per

Director and the Coordinator of the Teaching Labs
adamson@optics.rochester.edu | (585) 275-7762
533 Wilmot Bldg

Govind P. Agrawal

Agrawal, Govind P.

James C. Wyant Professor of Optics
Professor of Physics
Senior Scientist at LLE

gpa@optics.rochester.edu | (585) 275-4846
515 Goergen Hall
Website

Interests: Fiber Optics; Lasers; Optical Communications

Miguel A. Alonso

Alonso, Miguel A.

Associate Professor of Optics
alonso@optics.rochester.edu | (585) 275-7227
213 Wilmot Building
Website

Interests: Mathematical Models of Wave Propagation

Julie Bentley

Bentley, Julie

Associate Professor of Optics
bentley@optics.rochester.edu | (585) 273-1687
407 Goergen Hall

Interests: Optical Design; Engineering

David M. Berg

Berg, David M.

Adjunct Assistant Professor
david@orensage.com | (585) 317-9586
544 Goergen Hall

Andrew J. Berger

Berger, Andrew J.

Associate Professor of Optics
Associate Professor of Biomedical Engineering

ajberger@optics.rochester.edu | (585) 273-4724
405 Goergen Hall
Website

Interests: Medical Optics

Nicholas P. Bigelow

Bigelow, Nicholas P.

Lee A. DuBridge Professor of Physics
Professor of Optics

Chair of Faculty Senate
nbig@lle.rochester.edu | (585) 275-8549
312 Bausch & Lomb
Website

Interests: Quantum Optics; Quantum Physics

Robert Boyd

Boyd, Robert

Professor of Optics
Professor of Physics

boyd@optics.rochester.edu | (585) 275-2329
308 Wilmot Building
Website

Interests: Nonlinear Optics

brick_kari

Brick, Kari

Graduate Program Coordinator
kbrick@ur.rochester.edu | (585) 275-7720
105 Wilmot

Thomas G. Brown

Brown, Thomas G.

Professor of Optics
brown@optics.rochester.edu | (585) 275-7816
516 Goergen Hall

Interests: Optoelectronics

Dale Buralli

Buralli, Dale

Adjunct Assistant Professor
buralli@apollooptical.com | (585) 272-6174

Cristina Canavesi

Canavesi, Cristina

Postdoctoral Fellow
UR Center Coordinator of NSF I/UCRC Center for Freeform Optics
c.canavesi@rochester.edu | (585) 273-4037
503 Goergen Hall

Jianming Dai

Dai, Jianming

Associate Professor (Research) of Optics
Jianming.Dai@rochester.edu | (585) 275-6924
415 Goergen Hall

Interests: Ultrafast Lasers and Phenomena; Terahertz Optoelectronics

Joseph H. Eberly

Eberly, Joseph H.

Andrew Carnegie Professor of Physics
Professor of Optics

eberly@pas.rochester.edu | (585) 275-4576
321 Bausch & Lomb

Interests: Quantum Optics

Jonathan D. Ellis

Ellis, Jonathan D.

Assistant Professor of Optics and Mechanical Engineering
j.d.ellis@rochester.edu | (585) 275-4950
215 Hopeman
Website

Interests: Metrology Instruments

James R. Fienup

Fienup, James R.

Robert E. Hopkins Professor of Optics
Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering
Professor in the Center for Visual Science
Senior Scientist at LLE

fienup@optics.rochester.edu | (585) 275-8009
410 Wilmot Building
Website

Interests: Image Reconstruction; Wave Front Sensing

Thomas Foster

Foster, Thomas

Professor of Imaging Sciences
Professor of Optics
Professor of Physics

thomas.foster@rochester.edu | (585) 275-1347
3-5333 Medical Center
Website

Interests: Medical Optics; Photodynamic Therapy

Nicholas George

George, Nicholas

Emeritus Professor of Optics
nicholas.george@rochester.edu | (585) 275-2417
207 Wilmot Building
Website

Interests: Physical Optics; Imaging

James Goodwin

Goodwin, James

Visiting Scientist
Berger Group

james.goodwin@rochester.edu | (585) 733-1961

Chunlei Guo

Guo, Chunlei

Professor of Optics
guo@optics.rochester.edu | (585) 275-2134
419 Wilmot Building
Website

Interests: High Intensity Laser-Matter Interactions; Ultrafast Phenomena

no image

Hayes, Adam

Research Associate
Rolland Group

adam.hayes@rochester.edu | (585) 276-5627
402 Goergen

kern_gina

Kern, Gina

Administrative Assistant to the Director of The Institute
kern@optics.rochester.edu | (585) 275-4722
114 Wilmot

Wayne H. Knox

Knox, Wayne H.

Professor of Optics and Physics
Senior Scientist at LLE

wknox@optics.rochester.edu | (585) 273-5520
113 Wilmot Building
Website

Michael Koch

Koch, Michael

Research Engineer
Wicks Group

mkoc@lle.rochester.edu | (585) 273-2677
LLE

Todd D. Krauss

Krauss, Todd D.

Professor of Chemistry
Professor of Optics

krauss@chem.rochester.edu | (585) 275-5093
465 Hutchinson
Website

Interests: Nanoscale Materials and Devices

Photo of Jen Kruschwitz

Kruschwitz, Jennifer D. T.

Assistant Professor of Optics
jennifer.kruschwitz@rochester.edu | (585) 276-7823
509 Wilmot Building

Interests: Optical Interference Coatings and Color

Qiang Lin

Lin, Qiang

Assistant Professor of Optics and Electrical and Computer Engineering
qiang.lin@rochester.edu | (585) 275-3799
342 Hopeman
Website

Interests: Nanophotonic Devices; Physics and Applications

no image

Liu, Shuguang

Visiting Research Scholar
Agrawal Group

lishuguang98@gmail.com | (585) 275-7834
513 Goergen

Svetlana G. Lukishova

Lukishova, Svetlana G.

Senior Scientist
lukishov@optics.rochester.edu | (585) 275-8007
323 Wilmot Building
Website

Anil Malik

Malik, Anil

Postdoctoral Fellow
Zhang Group
anilmalik@gmail.com
544 Goergen Hall

John Marciante

Marciante, John

Associate Professor (Research) of Optics
marciante@optics.rochester.edu | (585) 273-4737
514 Goergen Hall
Website

Interests: Lasers; Waveguides; Fiber Optics

Brian McIntyre

McIntyre, Brian

Lecturer
brian.mcintyre@rochester.edu | (585) 275-3058
202 Wilmot Building

Duncan T. Moore

Moore, Duncan T.

Rudolf and Hilda Kingslake Professor in Optical Engineering Science
Professor of Optics
Professor of Biomedical Engineering
Professor of Business Administration in the William E. Simon Graduate School of Business Administration

moore@optics.rochester.edu | (585) 275-5248
409A Goergen Hall
Website

Interests: Optical Engineering; Lens Design & Manufacturing; Gradient-Index Optics

Jessica DeGroote Nelson

Nelson, Jessica DeGroote

Adjunct Assistant Professor
jnelson@optimaxsi.com | (585) 265-1020

Lukas Novotny

Novotny, Lukas

Adjunct Professor of Optics
lnovotny@ethz.ch
Website

Interests: Optics on the Nanometer scale

no image

Ogata, Yoichi

Research Associate
Guo Group
yogata@ur.rochester.edu | (585) 275-7629
420 Wilmot

James Oliver

Oliver, James

Adjunct Assistant Professor
joli@lle.rochester.edu | (585) 275-1194

Jannick Rolland

Rolland, Jannick

Brian J. Thompson Professor of Optical Engineering
Professor of Optics and Biomedical Engineering
Professor in the Center for Visual Science

Director of R.E. Hopkins Center for Optical Design & Engineering
Director of NSF/IUCRC: Center for Freeform Optics

rolland@optics.rochester.edu | (585) 273-4040
505 Goergen Hall
Website

Interests: Optical System Design; Instrumentation and System Engineering; Optical Coherence Tomography; Head Worn Displays

russell_lori

Russell, Lori

Adminstrator of the Institute
lrussell@optics.rochester.edu | (585) 275-5048
115 Wilmot

Greg Schmidt

Schmidt, Greg

Research Engineer
Moore Group

greg.schmidt@rochester.edu | (585) 275-8012
408 Goergen

schnitzler_maria

Schnitzler, Maria

Sponsored Research Administrator and Graduate Admissions Coordinator for the Institute
schnitzl@optics.rochester.edu | (585) 273-1155
315 Wilmot

no image

Shou, Qian

Visiting Research Scholar
Boyd Group

qshou@ur.rochester.edu | (585) 275-5030
306 Wilmot Building

smith_daniel

Smith, Daniel

Undergraduate Program Manager
daniel.smith@rochester.edu | (585) 275-7764
106 Wilmot

Carlos R. Stroud, Jr.

Stroud, Carlos R., Jr.

Professor of Optics
Professor of Physics

stroud@optics.rochester.edu | (585) 275-2598
312 Wilmot Building
Website

Interests: Quantum Optics

Patrice Tankam

Tankam, Patrice

Postdoctoral Research Associate
Rolland Group

patrice.tankam@rochester.edu | (585) 273-4037
503 Goergen

Kevin Thompson

Thompson, Kevin

Visiting Scientist
Rolland Group

kevin@opticalres.com | (585) 273-4040
505 Goergen

Nick Vamivakas

Vamivakas, Nick

Assistant Professor of Quantum Optics & Quantum Physics
nick.vamivakas@rochester.edu | (585) 275-2089
214 Wilmot Building
Website

Interests: Quantum Optics; Quantum Physics

Anatoliy Vorobyev

Vorobyev, Anatoliy

Senior Scientist, Guo Group
vorobyev@optics.rochester.edu | (585) 275-5561
418 Wilmot Building

Gary W. Wicks

Wicks, Gary W.

Professor of Optics
wicks@optics.rochester.edu | (585) 275-4867
109A Wilmot Building
Website

Interests: Molecular Beam Epitaxy; Semiconductor Optoelectronics

David R. Williams

Williams, David R.

William G. Allyn Professor of Medical Optics
Professor of Optics
Professor of Brain and Cognitive Sciences
Professor of Ophthalmology
Professor of Biomedical Engineering

Dean for Research in Arts, Sciences and Engineering
Director of the Center for Visual Science

david@cvs.rochester.edu | (585) 275-8672
270 Meliora Hall
Website

Interests: The Human Visual System; Physiological Optics

Emil Wolf

Wolf, Emil

Wilson Professor of Optical Physics
Professor of Optics

ewlupus@pas.rochester.edu | (585) 275-4397
307A Bausch & Lomb

Interests: Physical Optics; Coherence Theory

Geunyoung Yoon

Yoon, Geunyoung

Associate Professor of Optics
yoon@cvs.rochester.edu | (585) 273-4998
G-3184 Medical Center

Interests: Biomedical and Visual Optics; Adaptive Optics

James M. Zavislan

Zavislan, James M.

Associate Professor of Optics
Associate Professor of Dermatology
Associate Professor of Ophthalmology
Associate Professor of Biomedical Engineering

Associate Dean of Education and New Initiatives
zavislan@optics.rochester.edu | (585) 275-9819
416 Goergen Hall
Website

Interests: Optical Engineering; Biomedical Optical Systems

Xi-Cheng Zhang

Zhang, Xi-Cheng

M. Parker Givens Professor of Optics
Director of the Institute of Optics
Xi-Cheng.Zhang@rochester.edu | (585) 275-0333
113 Wilmot Building
Website

Interests: Photonic Quantum Information Systems; Nonlinear Optics; Laser Physics; TeraHertz Waves

Nan Zhao

Zhao, Nan

Visiting Fellow
Rolland Group
zhaonan830@gmail.com | (585) 276-5627
402 Goergen

Len Zheleznyak

Zheleznyak, Len

Research Associate
Knox Group
lelenz@optics.rochester.edu | (585) 275-6511
504 Goergen Hall