The Institute of Optics

People

Faculty

 
Govind P. Agrawal

Agrawal, Govind P.

James C. Wyant Professor of Optics
Professor of Physics
Senior Scientist at LLE

gpa@optics.rochester.edu | (585) 275-4846
515 Goergen Hall
Website

Interests: Fiber Optics; Lasers; Optical Communications

Miguel A. Alonso

Alonso, Miguel A.

Associate Professor of Optics
alonso@optics.rochester.edu | (585) 275-7227
213 Wilmot Building
Website

Interests: Mathematical Models of Wave Propagation

Julie Bentley

Bentley, Julie

Associate Professor of Optics
bentley@optics.rochester.edu | (585) 273-1687
407 Goergen Hall

Interests: Optical Design; Engineering

Andrew J. Berger

Berger, Andrew J.

Associate Professor of Optics
Associate Professor of Biomedical Engineering

ajberger@optics.rochester.edu | (585) 273-4724
405 Goergen Hall
Website

Interests: Medical Optics

Nicholas P. Bigelow

Bigelow, Nicholas P.

Lee A. DuBridge Professor of Physics
Professor of Optics

Chair of Faculty Senate
nbig@lle.rochester.edu | (585) 275-8549
312 Bausch & Lomb
Website

Interests: Quantum Optics; Quantum Physics

Robert Boyd

Boyd, Robert

Professor of Optics
Professor of Physics

boyd@optics.rochester.edu | (585) 275-2329
308 Wilmot Building
Website

Interests: Nonlinear Optics

Photo of Jake Bromage

Bromage, Jake

Associate Professor of Optics
Senior Scientist and Group Leader, Laser Technology Development at LLE

jbro@lle.rochester.edu | (585) 273-5105
270A LLE

Interests: Ultrafast and ultra-intense lasers, optical parametric amplification, and laser diagnostics

Thomas G. Brown

Brown, Thomas G.

Professor of Optics
brown@optics.rochester.edu | (585) 275-7816
516 Goergen Hall

Interests: Optoelectronics

Joseph H. Eberly

Eberly, Joseph H.

Andrew Carnegie Professor of Physics
Professor of Optics

eberly@pas.rochester.edu | (585) 275-4576
321 Bausch & Lomb

Interests: Quantum Optics

Jonathan D. Ellis

Ellis, Jonathan D.

Assistant Professor of Optics and Mechanical Engineering
j.d.ellis@rochester.edu | (585) 275-4950
215 Hopeman
Website

Interests: Metrology Instruments

James R. Fienup

Fienup, James R.

Robert E. Hopkins Professor of Optics
Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering
Professor in the Center for Visual Science
Senior Scientist at LLE

fienup@optics.rochester.edu | (585) 275-8009
410 Wilmot Building
Website

Interests: Image Reconstruction; Wave Front Sensing

Thomas Foster

Foster, Thomas

Professor of Imaging Sciences
Professor of Optics
Professor of Physics

thomas.foster@rochester.edu | (585) 275-1347
3-5333 Medical Center
Website

Interests: Medical Optics; Photodynamic Therapy

Nicholas George

George, Nicholas

Emeritus Professor of Optics
nicholas.george@rochester.edu
Website

Interests: Physical Optics; Imaging

Chunlei Guo

Guo, Chunlei

Professor of Optics
guo@optics.rochester.edu | (585) 275-2134
419 Wilmot Building
Website

Interests: Laser-Matter Interactions; Ultrafast Phenomena; Surface Functionalization; Atomic & Molecular Physics

Photograph of John Howell

Howell, John C.

Professor of Physics and Optics
howell@pas.rochester.edu | (585) 275-0538
310 Bausch and Lomb Building
Website

Interests: Quantum Optics; Quantum Physics

Wayne H. Knox

Knox, Wayne H.

Professor of Optics and Physics
Senior Scientist at LLE

wknox@optics.rochester.edu | (585) 273-5520
113 Wilmot Building
Website

Todd D. Krauss

Krauss, Todd D.

Professor of Chemistry
Professor of Optics

Chair of Chemistry Department
krauss@chem.rochester.edu | (585) 275-5093
465 Hutchinson
Website

Interests: Nanoscale Materials and Devices

Photo of Jen Kruschwitz

Kruschwitz, Jennifer D. T.

Assistant Professor of Optics
jennifer.kruschwitz@rochester.edu | (585) 276-7823
509 Wilmot Building

Interests: Optical Interference Coatings and Color

Photograph of Brian Kruschwitz

Kruschwitz, Brian

Associate Professor of Optics
Senior Scientist, LLE

bkru@lle.rochester.edu | (585) 273-5104
Laboratory for Laser Energetics

Interests: High energy and high power laser systems; Optical systems; Adaptive optics; Laser diagnostics

Qiang Lin

Lin, Qiang

Assistant Professor of Optics and Electrical and Computer Engineering
qiang.lin@rochester.edu | (585) 275-3799
342 Hopeman
Website

Interests: Nanophotonic Devices; Physics and Applications

John Marciante

Marciante, John

Associate Professor of Optics
marciante@optics.rochester.edu | (585) 273-4737
514 Goergen Hall
Website

Interests: Lasers; Waveguides; Fiber Optics

Duncan T. Moore

Moore, Duncan T.

Rudolf and Hilda Kingslake Professor in Optical Engineering Science
Professor of Optics
Professor of Biomedical Engineering
Professor of Business Administration in the William E. Simon Graduate School of Business Administration

moore@optics.rochester.edu | (585) 275-5248
409A Goergen Hall
Website

Interests: Optical Engineering; Lens Design & Manufacturing; Gradient-Index Optics

Jannick Rolland

Rolland, Jannick

Brian J. Thompson Professor of Optical Engineering
Professor of Optics and Biomedical Engineering
Professor in the Center for Visual Science

Director of R.E. Hopkins Center for Optical Design & Engineering
Director of NSF/IUCRC: Center for Freeform Optics

rolland@optics.rochester.edu | (585) 273-4040
505 Goergen Hall
Website

Interests: Optical System Design; Instrumentation and System Engineering; Optical Coherence Tomography; Head Worn Displays

Carlos R. Stroud, Jr.

Stroud, Carlos R., Jr.

Professor of Optics
Professor of Physics

stroud@optics.rochester.edu | (585) 275-2598
312 Wilmot Building
Website

Interests: Quantum Optics

Photo of Brian Thompson

Thompson, Brian

Emeritus Professor of Optics
Provost Emeritus

kern@ur.rochester.edu

Nick Vamivakas

Vamivakas, Nick

Assistant Professor of Quantum Optics & Quantum Physics
nick.vamivakas@rochester.edu | (585) 275-2089
214 Wilmot Building
Website

Interests: Quantum Optics; Quantum Physics

Gary W. Wicks

Wicks, Gary W.

Professor of Optics
wicks@optics.rochester.edu | (585) 275-4867
109A Wilmot Building
Website

Interests: Molecular Beam Epitaxy; Semiconductor Optoelectronics

David R. Williams

Williams, David R.

William G. Allyn Professor of Medical Optics
Professor of Optics
Professor of Brain and Cognitive Sciences
Professor of Ophthalmology
Professor of Biomedical Engineering

Dean for Research in Arts, Sciences and Engineering
Director of the Center for Visual Science

david@cvs.rochester.edu | (585) 275-8672
270 Meliora Hall
Website

Interests: The Human Visual System; Physiological Optics

Emil Wolf

Wolf, Emil

Wilson Professor of Optical Physics
Professor of Optics

ewlupus@pas.rochester.edu | (585) 275-4397
307A Bausch & Lomb

Interests: Physical Optics; Coherence Theory

Geunyoung Yoon

Yoon, Geunyoung

Professor of Ophthalmology, Optics
Center for Visual science and Biomedical Engineering
gyoon@ur.rochester.edu | (585) 273-4998
G-3184 Medical Center

Interests: Biomedical and Visual Optics; Adaptive Optics

James M. Zavislan

Zavislan, James M.

Associate Professor of Optics
Associate Professor of Dermatology
Associate Professor of Ophthalmology
Associate Professor of Biomedical Engineering

Associate Dean of Education and New Initiatives
zavislan@optics.rochester.edu | (585) 275-9819
416 Goergen Hall
Website

Interests: Optical Engineering; Biomedical Optical Systems

Xi-Cheng Zhang

Zhang, Xi-Cheng

M. Parker Givens Professor of Optics
Director of the Institute of Optics
Xi-Cheng.Zhang@rochester.edu | (585) 275-0333
113 Wilmot Building
Website

Interests: Photonic Quantum Information Systems; Nonlinear Optics; Laser Physics; TeraHertz Waves

Jonathan D. Zuegel

Zuegel, Jonathan D.

Professor of Optics
Director, Laser Development and Engineering Division of LLE
Senior Scientist, LLE

zuegel@lle.rochester.edu | (585) 275-4425
278 Laboratory for Laser Energetics

Interests: Solid-State Lasers; Nonlinear Optics; Electro-Optics; Laser Diagnostics